Category Archives: In Memorium

Jane Langton

It is with profound sadness we announce the passing of Jane Langton, a 2017 Grand Master, on December 22, 2018.

In a writing career that spanned over four decades, Jane Langton had not only written multiple mystery series, but also illustrated them.  Her first children’s book, The Majesty of Grace, was published by Harper in 1961. The first book of her Hall Family Chronicles series, The Diamond in the Window, was nominated for the Edgar for Best Juvenile.  The Fledgling, fourth in the series, was a Newbery Honor Book. Langton had written 18 books in the Homer (and Mary) Kelly series, published between 1964 and 2005. The fifth in the series, Emily Dickinson Is Dead, was an Edgar nominee and received a Nero Wolfe award.

Sue Grafton

This was just posted on Sue Grafton’s Facebook Page.  We in MWA land are so sorry to hear this news and send our deepest condolences to her family, friends and fans. Hello Dear Readers. This is Sue’s daughter, Jamie. I am sorry to tell you all that Sue passed away last night after a twoContinue Reading

Lois Duncan

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of Lois Duncan – one of MWA’s 2015 Grand Master award recipients. Here is the link to Lois receiving her Grand Master award at the April 2015 Edgar Awards banquet:  Lois at the Banquet

Ruth Rendell has Died.

Ruth Rendell, MWA’s 1997 Grand Master and a 3-time Edgar winner (with 6 other nominations) has died.

Dorothy Salisbury Davis

In loving memory of Dorothy Salisbury Davis – April 26, 1916 – August 3, 2014. President of MWA in 1956; named Grand Master in 1985 and a 6-time Edgar Nominee.