News and Announcements from MWA

Category Archives: Edgar® Awards

2014 Edgar Week Events

Launch Party for MWA’s Newest Anthology - Ice Cold

Ice Cold Anthology CoverOn Tuesday, April 29th, we will be launching our newest anthology, Ice Cold, edited by Jeffery Deaver and Raymond Benson.  The launch party will be held at The Mysterious Bookshop, 58 Warren Street, New York, NY.  Phone number is: 212-587-1011.  The event will begin at 6:00 p.m. and many of the contributors are scheduled to appear.  In addition, many of the 2014 Edgar® Award nominees will also be at the bookstore.

Visit Mysterious’ website for more information:

Register NOW for the 2014 Edgar® Week Grand Master Interview

New for this year and a new location!

Wednesday, April 30, 2014 – 5:00 to 6:00 pm
Grand Hyatt New York
Broadway Room – Conference Level
East 42nd Street at Grand Central Station

Please join us as we celebrate Robert Crais and Carolyn Hart – our 2014 Grand Masters.

Visit this link for the details –

2014 Edgar Awards Banquet

The 2014 Edgar Banquet will be on Thursday, May 1st at the Grand Hyatt Hotel.  The hotel is located on East 42nd St at Grand Central Station.  Cocktails will begin at 6:30 pm, dinner at 7:30 pm. The awards program will begin after dinner and will be emceed by our current president – Brad Meltzer.

We have arranged for a very discounted room rate at the Grand Hyatt Hotel of $290/per night.  This rate will be available for reservations made for the period beginning on Sunday, April 27th through Saturday, May 3rd. To make a reservation, call  800-233-1234 and ask for the “mystery writers” rate.  This rate will only be available until early April, so call now.  You may also reserve your hotel room via this link.

You may purchase tickets here on our website or by sending a check. Please make sure you return the RSVP card if you pay online.  Tickets are $195/per person.

Dress:  Dress to Kill – Black Tie Preferred

Visit for more information.

MWA Announces 2014 Edgar Award Nominees

Mystery Writers of America is proud to announce, as we celebrate the 205th anniversary of the birth of Edgar Allan Poe, the Nominees for the 2014 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television, published or produced in 2013. The Edgar® Awards will be presented to the winners at our 68th Gala Banquet, May 1, 2014 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, New York City. View the nominees at, or 2014 Edgar Nominations – Press Release.

MWA Announces 2014 Grand Master and Raven Awards

It is with great pleasure that MWA’s National Board of Directors announces the 2014 Grand Master and Raven award recipients.

Grand Masters are Robert Crais and Carolyn Hart

Raven Award recipient is Aunt Agatha’s in Ann Arbor, Michigan

For all the details, click on this link: 2014 Special Edgar Awards